Amardesh Online......................

Divisions: Barisal | Chittagong | Dhaka | Khulna | Rajshahi | Rangpur | Sylhet
Districts in Sylhet: Habiganj | Maulvi Bazar | Sunamganj | Sylhet

Sylhet District Information

Area3490.40 square kilometers.
Bounded by
the Khasia-Jainta hills of India on the north, Maulvi Bazar district on the south, Kachhar and Karimganj districts of India on the east, Sunamganj and Habiganj districts on the west.
Sylhet district was established on 3 January 1782. Until 1878, Sylhet was under the jurisdiction of dhaka division. In the same year, Sylhet was included in the newly created Asam Province. Up to 1947 (excepting the Banga Bhanga period of 1905-1911) it remained a part of Asam. In 1947, as a result of a referendum, it was attached to the East Pakistan and was included in the Chittagong Division. The greater Sylhet was divided into four new districts viz Sylhet, Sunamganj, Habiganj and Maulvi Bazar in 1983-84. On 1 August 1995 Sylhet was declared as the 6th division of the country consisting of the four districts of the greater Sylhet. Sylhet district consists of 11 upazilas, 2 municipalities, 37 wards, 233 mahallas, 98 union parishads, 1693 mouzas and 3249 villages.
Upazilla/ Thana
Balaganj Upazila, Beanibazar Upazila, Bishwanath Upazila, Companiganj Upazila, Fenchuganj Upazila, Golabganj Upazila, Gowainghat Upazila, Jaintiapur Upazila, Kanaighat Upazila, Sylhet Sadar Upazila, Zakiganj Upazila

Post Codes for Sylhet District

Elected MP(s) in 2008 Election
Area# Area NameElected MPFrom